Learned something about SCCM OSD today, just not sure what!

I was attempting to do a build of Windows 7 and I was using an x64 boot image on an x86 build. During the image build process it actually downloaded PE put it on disc, and rebooted similar to a refresh scenario. The strange thing was it still formatted. After the second reboot (after it copied PE) it couldn’t find the boot record. I am not sure what happened yet but it would appear that you should match your boot image to your OS. Now this may be a Windows 7 anomaly so YMMV. If anyone else has some insight on what I saw speak up and I will try to repost with more detailed information.

4 Responses

  1. I tried the same thing with a 32-bit boot image and a 32-bit install of Windows 7 and had the same result. I tried to capture Windows 7 using OSD and it errored out while running sysprep. Has anyone had any luck using OSD and Win 7? I also cant get the client to work in native mode on Windows 7

    • I got a similar error where it cannot find the boot record. So far I don’t have a solution for this problem. BTW Eric, noticed that you are at EC, I graduated from SP!

  2. Somethin’ somethin’ somethin’ about an ATS doing real technical work 🙂

Leave a Reply

